Skip to content

Campbell Finalists List

May 14, 2012

According to Locus, the 2012 John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists have been named:

  • Ready Player One, Ernest Cline (Crown)
  • This Shared Dream, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Tor)
  • Soft Apocalypse, Will McIntosh (Night Shade)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • The Islanders, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • The Highest Frontier, Joan Slonczewski (Tor)
  • Dancing with Bears, Michael Swanwick (Night Shade)
  • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS)
  • Robopocalypse, Daniel H. Wilson (Simon & Schuster)
  • Home Fires, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
  • Seed, Rob Ziegler (Night Shade)

The award, for best SF novel, will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held July 5-8, 2012 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.

  1. heteromeles permalink
    May 14, 2012 6:25 pm


  2. May 14, 2012 8:37 pm

    Thanks. It’s an interesting list, isn’t it; including some books I was glad to hear more about.

  3. paws4thot permalink
    May 15, 2012 6:35 am

    Congratulations, particularly given the strength/popularity of some of the other nominees. There are a couple I’ve never heard of and at least one I I’ve read once and intend to never read anything else by ever again.

    • May 15, 2012 8:55 am

      Well, yes, actually I feel that way about all award lists. And my own book has been on the receiving end of such feelings, as you know. 😉

      I try to look at award lists as a chance to expand my mind. If somebody else likes a certain book, I can at least try to figure out why.

  4. May 15, 2012 12:31 pm

    Congratulations — I’ve only read 3 of the books (so far!), and have heard very good things about all the others, save having not read much at all about This Shared Dream before now.

  5. Jonathan Cole permalink
    May 18, 2012 7:10 pm

    Great news! Hope you win!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: